Alaska

Click your county to be connected with local DUI lawyers in Alaska

alaska


Alaska DUI Laws

Each state treats DUI cases differently. With whichever DUI lawyers you choose to work with from our network, you can rest easy knowing that you have an expert Alaska DUI lawyer handling your case. Each DUI lawyer on our network specializes in DUI related claims and can get you the benefits you are entitled to. Your DUI lawyer will even see to it that all important legal and insurance documents are completed and will contact the police and courts to set up your case.

DUI laws in Alaska are extremely tough, even for first-time offenders. If you are found to be driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher, you are in violation of the state’s DUI laws. If an officer tests your BAC level and you are at .08 or higher, you do not even need to show signs of impairment to be charged with DUI. Conversely, if your BAC level is lower than .08 percent but an officer deems that you are showing signs of impairment, you may also incur a DUI charge. Once your BAC level is double the legal limit and above, even stricter penalties ensue.

State Implied Consent Laws

In the state of Alaska, there are implied consent laws, meaning that by driving in the state, you automatically agree to a blood alcohol exam and chemical test if suspected of driving intoxicated. If you refused to take the required test, your driver’s license will be suspended.

Penalties for DUI Offenses in Alaska

If you are found guilty of driving under the influence in Alaska, the following penalties may be imposed. You may be issued one or a combination of the following punishments for driving while intoxicated in the state.

1st DUI Conviction:

  • Driver is charged with a Class A Misdemeanor Criminal Offense
  • Imprisonment from a minimum of 72 hours up to 1 year
  • Fines from $1,500 to $5000
  • Driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 90 days
  • Driver may be referred to a substance abuse program

2nd DUI Conviction:

  • Driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 1 year
  • Imprisonment for a minimum of 20 Days
  • Fines from $3,000

3rd DUI Conviction

  • Driver is charged with a Class C Felony
  • Driver’s license is suspended for a minimum of 3 years or may be permanently suspended
  • Imprisonment for a minimum of 60 days (120 days if incurred within 10 years of a previous conviction)
  • Fines from $4,000 ($10,000 if incurred within 10 years of a previous conviction)

4th DUI Conviction

  • Driver is charged with a Class C Felony
  • Driver’s license is suspended for a minimum of 5 years or may be permanently suspended
  • Imprisonment for a minimum of 90 days (120 days if incurred within 10 years of a previous conviction)
  • Fines from $5,000 ($10,000 if incurred within 10 years of a previous conviction)

5th DUI Conviction

  • Driver is charged with a Class C Felony
  • Driver’s license is suspended for a minimum of 5 years or may be permanently suspended
  • Imprisonment for a minimum of 240 days (360 days if incurred within 10 years of a previous conviction)
  • Fines from $6,000 ($10,000 if incurred within 10 years of a previous conviction)

Additional Alaska Penalties for Repeat DUI Offenders

Any driver found guilty of DUI in Alaska for the third consecutive time and thereafter will be liable to suffer more severe punishments. Drivers under the influence who have caused an accident in which a victim has incurred bodily harm will be charged with a felony DUI offense instead of a misdemeanor.

Additional DUI penalties include:

  • DUI offender may be required to take medication in order to prevent alcohol consumption during incarceration or probation.
  • Under probation, the Alaska DUI offender may not operate a motor vehicle without an ignition interlock device. Driver must pay for cost, installation and maintenance of device.
  • Driver may be referred to an alcohol safety action program.
  • Driver may be ordered to wear an electronic monitoring device.

Alaska DUI Laws Regarding Driver’s Licenses

When charged with driving while intoxicated in Alaska, state may revoke your driver’s license. The period of time in which your license is revoked depends on how many other convictions you have incurred in the state. Drivers who have no prior convictions will have their license revoked for 90 days. Depending on your personal circumstances, you may be granted limited use of your license, such as for accomplishing work-related tasks.

The Laws in Alaska regarding multiple DUI convictions are as follows:

  • 1 prior DUI conviction will result in the revocation of your license for 1 year without the chance for limited work use
  • 2 prior DUI convictions will result in the revocation of your license for a minimum of 3 years without the chance for limited work use
  • 3 prior DUI convictions will result in the revocation of your license for a maximum of 5 years without the chance for limited work use

Get Legal Help Now

If you have incurred a DUI in Alaska, you must act fast in order to contest your charges. Speak to a top Alaska DUI lawyer right away to file a claim and protect your rights in court. DUI convictions have the power to completely ruin a person’s life. If you are found guilty of driving while intoxicated in Alaska, not only can you incur penalties and fines, but you may lose your job, have a hard time getting a new one and it can even have detrimental effects on your financial endeavors.

Time is of the essence when contesting an Alaska DUI charge. In Alaska, a DUI attorney only has 7 days to file an appeal for a court hearing in order to stop your driver’s license from being suspended/revoked.  Speak to an acclaimed Alaska DUI lawyers right away in order to ensure the best possible outcome for your case.

Call today to set up your free consultation with the ideal DUI lawyer for you in the state of Alaska.