Mississippi

Click your county to be connected with a local attorney

mississipi


DUI Laws in Mississippi

Don’t get stuck having to deal with your DUI infraction alone. Help from a top DUI lawyer in Mississippi is easily available through our network, duilawyersnow.org. Each renowned DUI lawyer we can connect you to has years of experience specializing in DUI cases and will do their best to ensure you are not penalized. Call today and start enjoying the benefits of having a premium DUI lawyer handling your case.

Like other states, the standard level of intoxication required for a driver to be convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Mississippi is .08 percent. This level is measured through blood alcohol content, or BAC, testing. Punishments for those who violate the DUI law may include expensive fines, community service and even jail time.

The following are the standard DUI laws in Mississippi:

• Motorists are charged with DUI if their BAC level is at or above .08 percent
• Motorists are charged with DUI if they are 21 years of age with a BAC level of .02 or above
• Motorists are charged with DUI if they are commercial vehicle drivers with a BAC level of .04 or above

The state has what is known as the “washout“ rule, which deems that previous DUI offenses can be only be used against a repeat offender for 5 years. However, Mississippi DUI laws are very strict. Once a motorist has incurred their 3rd DUI chare, they have committed a felony.

Mississippi DUI Punishments

The following are the penalties that a DUI offender may face in the state of Mississippi if convicted of charges:

1st DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 48 hours
• Fine from $250 to $1,000
• Driver’s license suspended 90 days
• Hardship license possible after 30 days
• May be ordered to complete alcohol safety education program
• May be ordered to attend impact panel

2nd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 5 days to 1 year
• Fine from$600 to $1,500
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• May be ordered to complete alcohol safety education program
• May be ordered to attend impact panel
• May be ordered to install interlock ignition device for 6 months following license reinstatement
• May have vehicle impounded/immobilized
• May be ordered to perform community service for 10 days to 1 year

3rd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 1 to 5 years
• Fine from $2,000 to $5,000
• Driver’s license suspended 5 years
• Must attend alcohol/drug abuse program
• Vehicle is seized
• May be ordered to install ignition interlock device
• May forfeit vehicle
• May have to attend victim impact panel

Zero Tolerance Rules

In Mississippi, there is a zero tolerance rule for minors (drivers under the age of 21). The following rules apply to minors convicted of DUI:

1st DUI Conviction

• Minor charged if BAC is between .02 -.08 percent
• Tried as adults if refuse to take BAC test
• Fine of $250
• Driver’s license suspended 90 days (30 if refuse BAC test)

2nd DUI Conviction

• Fine up to $500
• Driver’s license suspended 1 year or until age 21 (may be reduced to 6 months if certified alcohol/drug education or treatment program is completed)

3rd DUI Conviction

• Fine up to $1,000
• License suspended 2 years or until age 21 (whichever takes longer)
• Must complete certified alcohol/drug education or treatment program

Mississippi Implied Consent Laws

Mississippi has implied consent laws in place which require that each driver stopped for possible DUI to submit to a chemical test of their breath, blood or urine. Those who refuse will have their driver’s license automatically suspended from 90 days (if no previous DUI conviction) to 1 year (if previous conviction or refusal).

The 10-day Rule

When a motorist is arrested for DUI in Mississippi with a BAC level of .08 percent or above, their license is seized on the spot and the “10 day rule” applies. The “10 day rule” states that if a motorist refuses to submit to a DWI test or if their BAC test revealed a level of .08 or above, the state will attempt to revoke the motorist’s license from 90 days to 1 year.

This happens before the criminal DUI trail the majority of the time. Motorists will have 10 days to appeal, but this does not mean their license will not be suspended in the meantime. The petition allows a motorist to receive a temporary license valid for 45 days from the time of arrest. The motorist will then be summoned for a hearing where the decision regarding license suspension will be announced.

Working with a DUI Lawyer

In Mississippi, you have the right to contest your DUI charges with the help of a top DUI lawyer. Turn to our site for help in finding the most acclaimed Mississippi DUI attorneys who will stop at nothing to ensure the best possible outcome for your case.

A DUI can completely change your life for the worse. It can lead you to get fired from your job, find it difficult to get a new one and it can even influence your chances of getting a loan. With the assistance of an acclaimed DUI lawyer in Mississippi, however, you won’t have to worry about the implications of your DUI because your paralegal will not rest until your charges are lowered or wiped out altogether.

Turn to one of our esteemed Mississippi DUI attorneys today to discuss your options and fight for your rights.