Missouri

Click your county to be connected with a local attorney

Click here to visit St Louis City Criminal Attorney

missouri


Missouri DWI Laws

Missouri’s best DUI lawyer is waiting to help you win your DUI case. By appointing a top DUI lawyer from our Missouri network to assist you, you are guaranteeing yourself a better chance to have your case dismissed. Our DUI lawyers have years of experience in handling DUI cases and will work hard to ensure your license is not revoked and that you don’t face having to do community service or rehab.

In the state of Missouri, it is illegal for a motorist to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher. Those found to be driving with a BAC of .08 percent or higher will be arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). However, if the motorist is under the age of 21 or is a commercial vehicle driver, DWI charges will be imposed if the minor’s BAC level is .02 percent or higher and if the commercial vehicle driver’s BAC level is .04 percent or higher.

The DWI law in Missouri is divided into two sub laws: the criminal alcohol law and the administrative alcohol law. The criminal law deals with the actual DWI ticket that was issued. Those convicted of DWI will incur points on their license and driving privileges may be suspended or revoked. The administrative law can initiate the suspension or revocation of a license separate from the criminal case. Even if a motorist is not found guilty in the criminal trial, they may still have their license suspended or revoked.

Missouri DWI laws account for both alcohol and drug consumption. A motorist will be charged with DWI if they are driving with any amount of a controlled substance present in their blood. Controlled substances include marijuana, cocaine and other illicit drugs.

Refusing to take a chemical test to determine BAC level and drug consumption can be used against a DWI offender in court. Any motorist who refuses to take a chemical test will have their license suspended for one year. Those who wish to contest their charges have 15 days to request an administrative hearing or else face having their license revoked.

Punishments for DWI Offenders in Missouri

The following are the different DWI punishments a motorist in Missouri may incur if they are found guilty of drinking and driving or of drug consumption:

1st DWI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 6 months
• Fine up to $500
• 2 license points
• Driver’s license suspended 30 days
• Drivers license suspended 60 days with restricted license (following 30 full days of suspension)
• $45 license reinstatement fee
• Mandatory Missouri SR22 Insurance
• May be ordered to install ignition interlock device

2nd DWI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 1 year
• Fine up to $1,000
• Driver’s license suspended 1 year (5 years if within 5 years of previous DWI)
• $45 license reinstatement fee
• Mandatory Missouri SR22 Insurance
• Install ignition interlock device required after license reinstatement

3rd DWI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 4 years
• Fine up to $5,000
• Driver’s license suspended 10 years
• $45 license reinstatement fee
• Mandatory Missouri SR22 Insurance
• Mandatory ignition interlock device

* There are enhanced penalties for DWI offenders who were caught driving with a BAC at or above .15 percent. Drivers may be forced to spend more time in jail or install an ignition interlock device if found guilty of extreme DWI

Minors Charged with DWI

Any person under the age of 21 who is convicted of DWI may have their license suspended for 90 days upon first offense or revoked for 1 year for subsequent offenses. In addition to having a BAC level of .02 percent or higher, minors between the ages of 15 and 21 may also have their driving privileges suspended or revoked if they are caught purchasing or attempting to purchase any intoxicating liquor, possessing intoxicated liquor, being visibly intoxicated.

Missouri’s Implied Consent Laws

In the state of Missouri, implied consent laws are in place. These laws assume that a motorist in the state will submit to chemical testing to determine if they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Those who refuse will have their license revoked for 1 year.

Fighting DWI Charges in Missouri

A DWI conviction can not only cause the offender to pay expensive fines and fees and face jail time, but can affect a person’s life in other areas, such as employment and finance. DWI charges are serious and have lasting negative consequences, but with the help of an acclaimed paralegal, your case will end with the best possible outcome. If you have been charged with DWI in Missouri, you need the help of a top DWI attorney right away.

Missouri DWI lawyers will do whatever it takes to ensure that your charges are either significantly reduced or wiped out altogether. They will speak to police and witnesses to gather more information regarding the incident and look for evidence that will help you in court. If your DWI attorney discovers that you were unfairly charged because of a faulty breathalyzer or because of police suspicion alone, you can rest easy knowing that your paralegal will not let you suffer consequences of a crime you did not commit. They will work diligently to get your charges completely cleared.

Contact a skilled DWI lawyer in Missouri today to get started on your case and fight for your rights.